The Solar System

On this page we’ll introduce the planets. The planets represent the various forces of energy that are transmuted thru the 12 zodiac signs. The energy of the planet is consistent however it can look/feel different in each zodiac sign. The personal planets are those that can be seen with the naked eye. In the vedic system of astrology these are the only planets that are recognized. There are many books out there where you can get detailed information regarding the planets and I encourage you to read as much as you can. I have created some lists of recommended reading on

The more you read from many different authors and teachers, the better skilled you will be in translating information into behaviour & action.

The Inner Planets include:

  1. Sun
  2. Moon
  3. Mercury
  4. Venus
  5. Mars
  6. Jupiter
  7. Saturn

In addition to the planets we will also consider the Lunar Nodes. The Lunar Nodes are not actual orbiting bodies. Rather, they are the two places where the path of the moon intersects the ecliptic (the path of the earth around the sun). They are exactly 180 degrees apart and take 18.5 years to complete a cycle. Go here for more information on the nodes.

The asteroid belt orbits between Mars and Jupiter. Within this belt are hundreds of rocky bodies left over from the beginnings of the Solar System. Some suggest that they may even be the remains of another planet that was destroyed. There are 4 asteroids that have some symbolic value and are recognized to many astrologers. they are Ceres, Pallas, Vesta, & Juno. Their influences are related to woman’s issues. If you want more information on these bodies go here.

Chiron, a comet-like planetoid that travels between Saturn and Uranus is another body that western astrologers use and because of its relationship to  spiritual and alternative healing practices.

The transpersonal planets, or outer planets, are those planets that require a telescope or technology to see. They are not recognized in Vedic Astrology at all. However, in my personal experience these outer planets (especially since the onset of the 20th century) have tremendous life changing effects on all of us and must be taken into consideration.

The outer planets include:

  1. Uranus
  2. Neptune
  3. Pluto

Some astrologers go beyond the known and include what is called hypothetical planets such as: Transpluto, Lilith & Transneptune. They believe that these bodies exist even though there has been no evidence of them…….yet.